Hosts Saint Kitts and Nevis face Saint Lucia in Hero CPL final


The Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots secured a spot in the 2021 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in front of their home fans with a massive seven-wicket victory over the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

The Patriots won the toss and put the Amazon Warriors. The Warriors consolidated after losing Brandon King in the fourth of their innings, with Chandrapaul Hemraj and Shoaib Malik patiently building the innings.

However, three wickets in three successive overs, including that of captain Nicholas Pooran, saw the side crumble, hitting 131-8 at one point. Hetmyer recovered the innings by scoring 45 points on 20 balls, including 25 remarkable points since the last inning. This brought his side to a substantial 178/9.

Read also: Call for tenders for the new IPL teams scheduled for October 17

While continuing, the Patriots again chose to open with Chris Gayle, and he landed a solid platform with an aggressive shot of 42. The St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots in turn reached their score the highest power play of this year’s Hero CPL, Gayle and Lewis rising 68-0 after the first six overs. Gayle was in destructive form, scoring 42 of 27 balls.

Then it was Evin Lewis who took on the responsibility of leading the hunt. Backed up by captain DJ Bravo, who promoted to number three, Lewis notched 77 balls for just 39 balls as the Patriots won with thirteen balls to spare.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots 181-3 (Lewis 77 *, Gayle 42; Smith 2/48, Sinclair 1/31) defeated Amazonian warriors of Guyana 178-9 (Hetmyer 45 *, King 27, Hemraj 27; Jaggesar 02/19, Fawad 02/22) by seven counters.

Mum: Evin lewis

Second Hero CPL final for Saint Lucia

In the other semi-final, the Saint Lucia Kings overtook defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders in a high-scoring match to advance to the final.

The Kings of Saint Lucia, aided by Mark Deyal (78) and bowling ace David Wiese, who won five Trinbago wickets for 39, reached the Hero CPL 2021 final by beating defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders. This was the second consecutive Hero CPL final for the Saint Lucia Kings.

The Saint Lucia Kings won the toss and chose to strike and Deyal got off to a good start. Tim David and David Wiese have combined to cause carnage in these final overs, siding with a 205/4 mammoth after their 20 overs.

Also Read: After Hacking, Royal Challengers Bangalore Official Twitter Account Restored

Trinbago Knight Riders got off to a quick start in response, but slowly collapsed amid an increasing race rate, as David Wiese won his second five wickets in this year’s Hero CPL to end the defense of their title while they finished on 184 all over the place.

Despite losing Rahkeem, Cornwall in the opener against Saint Lucia was helped by Deyal as he hit 11 limits to reach his highest T20 score of 78 on just 44 balls. Roston Chase helped the team with a valuable blow, before David and Wiese entered and formed a destructive partnership.

They scored 75 points on the last 34 balls. Despite the high score, Sunil Narine was excellent with the ball for Trinbago, conceding just 12 points from his four overs.

The Trinbago Knight Riders responded forcefully, scoring 66 points in Powerplay for just the loss of a wicket, as Narine and Colin Munro kept the required run rate close at hand. However, Wiese played with the ball as he took their two wickets, adding pressure to the pursuit.

Also Read: Trinbago Knight Riders Join Saint Kitts and Nevis in Hero CPL # 1

Despite cameos from Darren Bravo and Captain Kieron Pollard, it wasn’t enough as the champions fell short against the disciplined bowling of Alzarri Joseph and Wahab Riaz. Wiese then closed a superb match by taking late wickets to reach his five wickets.

Kings of Saint Lucia 205/4 (Deyal 78, David 38; Narine 1/12, Hosein 1/27) beat Trinbago Knight Riders 184 all out (Narine 30, Ramdin 29; Wiese 5/39, Paul 2/21) by 21 strokes.

Mum: David Wiese


Comments are closed.