Seven new countries added to green travel list, including Canada and Denmark


27 Aug 2021, 07:21 | Updated: Aug 27, 2021 07:23

Canada and Denmark have been added to the green travel list.

Photo: Getty Images / Alamy

Travel update: Canada and Denmark have been added to the green list, but Turkey is still in red.

Good news for holidaymakers, as seven more countries have been added to the green list.

From Monday, British tourists will be able to travel to Canada, Denmark, Finland, Lithuania, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and the Azores without quarantine.

Denmark has been added to the green travel list

Denmark has been added to the green travel list.

Image: Alamy

These are added to the 36 countries currently on the green list, with 16 of them on a “watch list,” meaning they could switch to orange with little notice.

Anyone returning to Britain from a Green List destination will need to undergo two Covid tests, including a pre-arrival Covid test, as well as a test on the second day of their return to the UK.

There is relief for thousands of Brits as well, as hot spots like France, Spain, Greece and Portugal remain orange.

This means that those who have been doubly vaccinated can travel to these countries without needing to isolate themselves on their return.

This is not such good news for those hoping to move to Montenegro and Thailand, as both countries are added to the government’s red list due to rising rates of Covid infection.

This means those currently staying in those countries will have to pay more than £ 2,000 to stay in a quarantine hotel when they return to the UK.

The new rules will go into effect at 4 a.m. on Monday, August 30 in the latest Summer Travel Update.

There have been no other changes in the rules, which means the holiday hotspot Turkey has also remained on the red list.

Canada has been added to the green travel list

Canada has been added to the list of green trips.

Image: Alamy

Experts had previously predicted that places like Morocco, Saint Lucia and Jamaica could be on the red list due to the increase in Covid cases.

Meanwhile, Croatia, Madeira and Antigua were to be added to amber, meaning those that are not dubbed should be quarantined.

However, those changes weren’t made this time around.

Full list of countries added to the green list:

  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Lithuania
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein


Comments are closed.